"3 hour wait unacceptable"

About: City Hospital campus / Oncology

(as a relative),

Attended Oncology Outpatients with my mother. Utterly disgusted with a 3 hour wait for a morning appointment. I completely understand that each patient needs the time they need but how can they possibly be 3 hours behind before noon? We're talking about making seriously ill people who are utterly exhausted anyway sit around for 3 hours. And not one single person came to explain to us and the other patients waiting why the wait was so long. Yes they were apologetic when we finally got in but just a word of kindness in the previous 3 hours would have helped. Very very poor level of care and compassion today.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust

I’m deeply sorry that you and your mother had such a long wait and that we didn’t explain the reason for the delay as we should have done. Without further detail it is difficult for me to provide more a full explanation regarding the cause of the delay. Please do contact me directly if you would like to discuss this further? If so, you can reach me on 0115 9691169 ext.56998 or you can email me on Karen.thorpe@nuh.nhs.uk

Kind regards,

Karen Thorpe.

Manager, Oncology Outpatients.