"Waiting time for test results"

About: Hairmyres Hospital / Pre Operative Assessment

(as the patient),

I attended for test in early july for oesophageal manometry I have good and bad points on the experience.

Good points!

staff were very nice, very plesent, well manored, well educated, respectful

the test was made easier by the staff everything was explained well and in great detail and they were able to answer any questions I had appointement was quicker thank I expected it to be.

very relaxed atmosphere staff worked well together and seemlesly could not fault there work that day

sadly now on to the bad points

Appoinment letter. in the letter it states that the test may be unsightly, as you can imagine this conjures all sorts of images into your head and makes you think about going through with the test leaving the patient to phone and investiage what this means.

in the letter it tells you to fast for 4 hours but it is at the bottom of the letter and is not higlighted in anyway so could be easily skiped over and missed.

at the appointment I was told that there was a back log in reports and if I got an appointment with the consultant to phone the department to infrom them so that they could check if my results had been reported, I have since been in touch with my consultant and they will not issue an appointemt till they get the results as thats the way it works! it has been roughly 16 weeks since my appointment and still no results how is this possible I knew that there might be a wait but not this long

the staff were brilliant at there jobs and I can not say that enough unfortunatly the wait on my resluts has tainted my view on the departement

I dont want anyone getting into trouble I would just like something to be done to reduce waiting time on reports

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Gwen MacIntyre, Senior Nurse, Senior Nurse for the Care of the Elderly, Hairmyres Hospital We are preparing to make a change

picture of Gwen MacIntyre

Dear armani72,

Thank you first of all for spending your time to give us this very valuable feedback. You have provided us with lovely comments regarding the staff and their interactions with patients and each other, which of course I am delighted to pass onto the team.

On the less positive front, I need to investigate the content and language used in our appointment letters as clearly they caused some distress and anxiety which we would hope to reduce and not add to at these difficult times.

In addition, I will review the fasting instructions and see if we can highlight this text to avoid any confusion as you are quite right, this is very important to allow the test to take place.

I am aware that there are delays to the reporting due to the volume of patients and limited service we currently have here in Lanarkshire.

If you could contact me via phone I will review your case with our technician to see what can be done to either expedite this aspect for you or at the very least give you a time frame for these results.

My contact number during office hours is 01355 584664

I look forward to your call and will be available all next week.

Kind Regards


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from Gwen MacIntyre, Senior Nurse, Senior Nurse for the Care of the Elderly, Hairmyres Hospital We have made a change

picture of Gwen MacIntyre

Dear armani72,

I hope you are well, I've gone ahead and reviewed the standard appointment letters with our Oesophageal lab team. They have had feedback previously which has shaped the warnings of 'unsightly' due to the probe tube being left in situ as some patients travel by bus or train. I think we will need to keep this part of the letter however we have also reviewed the 'fasting' comment.

It is indeed only in bold print and quite near the end of the text. I have asked our secretaries to change this as standard to highlight in red print/underlined to bring this part of the instructions to the readers attention. They will make this change with immediate effect to help future patients adhere to instruction.

I've not yet heard from you and again want to extend the invitation to contact me directly and I will then be able to ascertain where in our system your personal report is and if we can expedite a response.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards


01355 584664

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful