"Uncomfortable experience"

About: Stepping Hill Hospital

(as the patient),

I was initially admitted to the new Surgical assessment unit, I was put on one of the trolleys for many hours, without pain relief (it took over 4 hours for them to get a doctor to prescribe it) - suffering with chronic joint pain I can honestly say the trolleys were the most uncomfortable and painful experience I've ever had in my life. I thought the ward was freezing, there was no network, no public phone, no way to contact home.

I was then moved onto the ward, again freezing cold, no network, no public phone, no tv, no nothing! I thought it was awful.

The staff decided I was nil by mouth, for what I feel was no reason at all and I had to argue that I wasn't, I advised I'd not eaten in 2 days and was then told it'll do you diet good - which I thought was a totally innapropiate comment.

All in all I had an absolute terrible stay.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Patient and Customer Services Team Manager, Stockport NHS Foundation Trust

I am so sorry to hear of your experience and have shared your comments with the Emergency Department. If you would like us to investigate further and provide a full response to your concerns, we would need more information. If you would like a full investigation to be carried out, please contact the Patient and Customer Services Team on 0161 419 5678. We will then be able to take the details of the ward you were admitted to and look into the issues you have raised.

Kind regards

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Update posted by Mrs Bee (the patient)

I have written to the hospital who have advised they are investigating and I am awaiting a response from the issues as noted above and further issues.