"A waste of time"

About: North Tyneside General Hospital

I was sent here by my GP as they were unable to offer me an appointment, I was seen by the triage nurse within half an hour, who gave me poor advice about the pain killers I had been taking, and then said I had probably pulled a muscle. I then waited over three hours to be seen by a doctor, who never introduced themself, they asked a few questions and without any examination told me that I needed a blood test which would have to be done at Cramlington. I left and after a further weeks wait got to see my GP who diagnosed a serious chest infections, they actually listened to my chest. What are the walk in centres for?

Just save yourself time and head to A&E.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from North Tyneside General Hospital

Dear Sir/Madam,

I am very sorry that you did not have a positive experience at North Tyneside General Hospital Urgent Care Centre. I do apologise that you feel you had a long wait to see a doctor. Due to the demand on the service we aim to see our patients within 4 hours of their arrival, but I do understand that it must be frustrating to have to wait so long, especially when you are unwell.

Our Trust promotes the #hellomynameis initiative and so all of our clinicians should be introducing themselves to patients when they first meet you and I am sorry that this has not happened. I will pass this onto our Urgent Care Centre to remind their staff of how important this is.

Unfortunately our Urgent Care Centres cannot always provide blood tests, this can be for various reasons for example; more serious conditions will need to be seen at The Northumbria Hospital, and also depending on the time of day it is, as we don’t always have the use of our laboratories. I would like to look into your case further to be able to provide you with a better response as to why your bloods were not taken at North Tyneside Urgent Care Centre. If you would like me to do this please could you provide your details to Patient.Experience@northumbria-healthcare.nhs.uk.

I look forward to hearing from you,


Jessica Mallach - Head of Quality Improvement & Patient Experience

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful