"I cancelled the appointment then received letter stating we hadn't attended"

About: Tameside General Hospital / Trauma and orthopaedics

(as a parent/guardian),

I phoned to cancel my son's fracture clinic appointment and after repeatedly not getting an answer left a message on their machine as it instructed. I telephoned again to ensure that they had the message and left another message cancelling the appointment 

On return from holiday I received a letter stating that we did not attend the appointment. Obviously I was upset at this as I did not want an appointment to be wasted and wrote back advising as above to which I did not receive a reply. I wrote again a couple of weeks ago to which I have still not received a reply.

I am upset because I did what was asked of me and upset that this appointment could have been used for someone else. I stated in my letter that their system could be faulty and asking that they check it to ensure it doesn't happen again.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Tameside and Glossop Integrated Care NHS Foundation Trust

We are really sorry you have had cause to raise your concerns.

If you would like to contact the PALS and Complaints team on 0161 922 4466 or email palsandcomplaints@tgh.nhs.uk and provide specific details, we can investigate this for you and address this with the relevant teams and individuals to understand the reason why this occurred and take action to prevent reoccurrence.

Recently read