"Ward 20"

About: Bradford Royal Infirmary

I have been admitted onto Ward 20 several times and each time has been as bad as the previous time. The staff, especially nurses, are rude, ignorant and inconsiderate. Junior Doctors though are fine. I am disgusted at the way in which nurses have such a lack of empathy for their patients. Not only is the ward itself bad enough but the pre admission area is even worse. You have to wait hours on a uncomfortable narrow A&E type bed and although I do understand they are busy, you don't know what is happening as you don't see a nurse or doctor from one hour to the next. On one occasion and for the first time ever I signed myself out because of the lack of care and consideration by the staff, even though I was really ill and had a high temperature. I felt I was better off at home. If it wasn't for the Gastro out patients clinic, which is brilliant, I would avoid the BRI at all costs. They need to learn a lesson in what patient care is.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Bradford Royal Infirmary

Hello, and thank you for taking the time to send us this feedback.

I would like to apologize sincerely for the poor experience that you have described - it is not what we expect for our patients. I will make the

Matron for the area and the senior ward staff aware of your comments.

I am pleased to see that you have had a much better experience of our Gastro clinic and will also let them know about your feedback.

If you would like to discuss this further the patient experience manager would be happy to discuss your experience with you, and this can help us to make improvements. The number to contact is 01274364810. If you call when the office is closed, or when no-one is available to take your call, please do leave your name and a contact number and we will get back to you.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful