"Lack of communication"

About: Hairmyres Hospital / Care of the Elderly

(as a relative),

Brought my mum to an appointment at the rehabilitation centre as detailed in her appointment letter. Parked in the nearest car park, which was within easy walking distance for my mum, as she has mobility issues. On checking in at the reception desk we were told the clinic had been moved and we would have to walk through the hospital to the orthopaedic department.

A chair was not immediately available and we didn't want to be late for her appointment so we walked to the other end of the hospital. This caused problems for my mum as she was in severe pain. If we had been informed of the change in location of the appointment we could have avoided this situation.

I would like to thank the Podiatrist for the treatment provided to my mum. He was really nice to my mum and provided an update in relation to her current condition and advised us to seek further orthopaedic review.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Gwen MacIntyre, Senior Nurse, Senior Nurse for the Care of the Elderly, Hairmyres Hospital

picture of Gwen MacIntyre

Dear Mrs Grumpy,

I am so sorry that our communication was lacking, many of our patients and indeed visitors have mobility limitations and I understand the frustrations and inconvenience this has caused.

In order for me to understand the circumstances more fully, could you contact me on 01355584664 and I will pursue this matter further.

Kind Regards


  • Mrs Grumpy thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} other {{helpful-1 == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} so too

Response from Kathryn Ferguson, Patient Affairs Manager, Primary Care Division, NHS Lanarkshire

picture of Kathryn Ferguson

Dear Mrs Grumpy

Thank you for the positive feedback regarding our member of staff. I will pass on your kind comments.

I have shared your Patient Opinion post with a Senior Podiatrist we has advised that with regard to the clinic location, ideally, we would like to have all Extended Scope Practitioners Podiatry clinics within the orthopaedic dept as there would be a consultant present if required and it is closer to the x ray dept. Unfortunately, at present the accommodation is not available to enable this, however when a room is available, we are able to relocate the clinic from the rehab unit to orthopaedics for those reasons.

Please accept our apologies that you were not informed of the change of venue prior to the appointment and that a chair was not available to help your mum to gain easier access to the clinic, I hope she has recovered from this.

Should you have any further concerns, please contact me directly on 01698 858292 or by email at Kathryn.ferguson@lanarkshire.scot.nhs.uk

Best wishes


  • Mrs Grumpy thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} other {{helpful-1 == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} so too

Update posted by Mrs Grumpy (a relative)

I would like to thank both Gwen and Kathryn for taking the time to read my story. Both my mum and I are happy that you have offered an explanation and apology and don't feel the need to contact you. It is reassuring that my comments have been listened to and hopefully can be used to make the necessary improvements.