"A&E Visit"

About: Worthing Hospital / Accident and emergency

I was seen very quickly in A & E. The triage Nurse was fantastic, however the Doctor whom I saw seemed baffled and did not follow strict national guidelines regarding the recommended treatment.

As I had done my research, I questioned the doctor about the steps needed to be taken before prescribing, the doctor brushed off my concerns and prescribed and administered the treatment.

A quick look on the NHS and Patient websites when I returned home confirmed fully that I was right and the doctor was wrong.

I shall be seeking a second opinion and will avoid attending this hospital if ever required, as this is not the first time I have had issues with Doctors refusing to acknowledge patient concerns in Worthing Hospital.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Worthing Hospital

We are sorry to read that you had concerns over the diagnosis and treatment by a doctor in our A&E department.

As this site is anonymous we are unable to take any action other than to share this with the lead consultant in the A&E department.

However we would very much like to investigate further as the information you have shared is of concern to us.

Therefore we would be grateful if you could contact our Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) on 01903 285032 or palsworthing@wsht.nhs.uk so that we can discuss this with you.

We look forward to hearing from you and once again apologise that you were not happy with the doctor's treatment of your problem.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful