"Grim ambulatory care unit"

About: Peterborough City Hospital / Clinical haematology

Needing blood to be taken was referred to ambulatory care unit at Peterborough hospital. Spent ages waiting in reception, when called by nurse was shown to a tiny room with no windows and placed on a bed with no side rails, totally inappropriate for the boood to be taken. Nurse seemed unsure how to insert cannula, took 3 attempts each more painful than the one before. Then left alone for almost an hour with no call bell or way of getting help. Sure enough, blood line clotted after a few minutes but no way to cal, for help. Painful and bruised glad to leave after 3 hours of nurses trying to restart blood flow.

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Lesley Crosby, Deputy Chief Nurse, Peterborough and Stamford Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Once again you have found it necessary to re post a story that you have already posted a number of times and relates to an episode of care dating back some time. Our response will be the same as it was previously which is:

I am so sorry to hear about your experience but I believe that you have raised these issues as a formal complaint and we, as a Trust, have responded in full to the concerns you raised. The Trust has been open and honest with you in respect to responding to the concerns you have raised about your care on ACU. We have also acknowledged the issues you have raised when you have posted previously on NHS Choices and Patient Opinion.

Your care, I believe, was transferred to another department in the hospital when it was clear the relationship between yourself and ACU had broken down. We are sorry for the issues you have experienced and as you are aware we have recently carried out a survey for patients attending the ACU with the same condition as yourself and it is clear that the patients who took part in the survey did not experience any of the problems that you had. It is regrettable that you did experience so many issues but I hope that you are reassured that the majority of patients do not have the same problems and further more you are reassured by the changes we have made and shared with you.


Lesley Crosby
Deputy Chief Nurse

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful