"Wonderful staff"

About: Chesterfield Royal Hospital / Gynaecology

I was due to be admitted for surgery to remove an ovarian cyst, ovary and fallopian tube and was expecting to be in hospital for three days. My first operation was cancelled on the day, just before I was due to go in because of the lack of beds. Admittedly I was disappointed, but the staff were sympathetic and kind and a new date was arranged quickly. On return to the hospital I was able to have keyhole surgery and go home on the day of the operation. The registrar and consultants explained the procedure clearly and the nursing staff were friendly, thoughtful and reassuring. The whole experience was a lot less harrowing than I imagined it would be, recovery good so far.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Chesterfield Royal Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent surgery.

I can only imagine how disappointed you must have felt at having the first operation cancelled, but I hope the reasons were explained to you and I was pleased to read that you felt staff were sympathetic and kind when this happened.

It’s good to know you found your care and experience far less harrowing than you had imagined and I hope you are continuing to make a good recovery at home.

I will make sure your comments are shared with the gynaecology team.

Kind regards Sarah Turner-Saint head of communications

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful