"Visit to dentistry"

About: Stepping Hill Hospital

I was called yesterday morning at about 9.30 to see if I could take a suddenly vacant slot for a biopsy (I had been on the waiting list a few months). The call operator was good and the staff at the clinic were great however the original call showed up as caller ID withheld on my mobile then landline. I normally ignore calls that appear as such because they are usually cold call advertising. I appreciate that there might be a concern for confidentiality but you are actually risking both waste of resources and irritation to a prospective patient.

When I reached the surgery I was asked if I had eaten that morning. I nearly didn't because of the time involved and the original call could have included that advise.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Stepping Hill Hospital

Our number is withheld as there is more than one outgoing line from the hospital.

As a result, all outgoing calls are routed behind two numbers that in reality do not exist.

We did try showing our number last year, but because the number that showed does not exist, this caused problems and confusions for our patients.

This was therefore stopped and the Trust reverted back to witholding the number.

With regards to your call from the Trust, I would like to apologise that you were not provided with appropriate information prior to coming to hospital, this is not acceptable.

I have therefore provided your feedback to the management team responsible for the service for them to share your experience with staff.

I would like to thank you for taking the time for post your comments and hope that everything went well with your appointment.

Yours sincerley

Complaints and PALS Team Lead

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful