"I was referred to the Breast Clinic ..."

About: Royal Derby Hospital

(as the patient),

What I liked

I was referred to the Breast Clinic by my GP and was astonished by how quickly I was seen. The staff were very kind and reassuring at what was a very worrying time for me. Everyone worked well together as an efficient team and I was in and out, having had several tests and a consultation which answered all my questions, in less than an hour. A very impressive service.

What could be improved

Access to the hospital is very poor. As I was aware of the parking problems, and live on the wrong side of Derby to make the hospital bus a practical option, I decided to take a bus to Littleover village and walk from there to the hospital. Unfortunately the only entrance to the hospital site is on the wrong side for my bus route, so I had a 25 minute hike all the way around the hospital to get to the Breast Unit. The convenient entrance that used to open onto Manor Road has now been closed off, presumably to prevent people parking nearby. (Despite the fact that there are now so many residents-only parking restrictions in the area, nobody could do that anyway!) It amazes me that the trust cannot provide better access for pedestrians, especially when we are all supposed to be using "green" alternatives to driving.

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Derby Hospital

Thank you for positive comments about our Breast Unit. I shall pass on your comments to the department who always appreciate patients taking the time to thank them.

The reason the manor road entrance was closed was due to security incidents both on the Trusts land and around the local residences. With support from the police the entrance was closed and the crime figures dropped to almost nothing.

We are very pro-active in promoting alternative and greener ways of reaching our hospitals and we are pleased to know that patients like yourself are willing to walk. However in this instance opening up more pedestrian entrances at the Royal Derby Hospital would result in increased security issues on the site. We are very sorry that this caused you any inconvenience.

J. Roberts, Communications

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful