"a living nightmare and waking nightmare"

About: Southampton General Hospital / Trauma and orthopaedics

I was admitted as an emergency and within a day had been told my hip was going to break under me and that it had also been discovered I had advanced cancer.

I am said to have made a good post operative recovery from surgery to the hip but if this is good I dread to think what a bad recovery must be .

The sedation during an epidural failed and I remember key features of the operation including going into a bleed.

When I tried to attract attention I could not at first and when I tried to talk about it afterwards staff laughed at me and no help was offered.

If that was not bad enough I was moved to a different ward where I was placed furthest from the toilets though I was the one who needed them most.

My bed was between a mental patient and a disruptive family and it was forbidden for the staff to say out loud that I had cancer and was in a very fragile state.

When I tried discreetly to get over to ward staff that the neighbours, who repeatedly exceeded the maximum for visitors, were making me unwell I felt I was being blamed and lights were left on late into the night to prevent me sleeping

The food, which did not comply with the diet prescribed by the hospital, left me feeling and being sick.

In one episode of really violent sickness I was left unconscious and unattended lying horizontally across the bed on my back.

All this was bad enough but was compounded by incompetence and cruelty by physiotherapists ( little enough in evidence as it was) who failed to give proper and safe treatment and told the ward sister I was doing well when

I was not.

When I told the sister that the physiotherapy notes were wrong;indeed dreadfully wrong I was ignored Instead I was forcibly discharged against my will in to the "care" of contractors who were supposed to provide 14 days of nursing and physiotherapy but vanished after 4 even though I told two members of their staff my condition was getting worse.

Instead of being referred back to the hospital I was sent to community physiotherapy on a non urgent basis and again notes of what I said were not properly taken.

My GP, to whom I have explained the issues, had thought a case of my level of seriousness would have warranted hospital based physiotherapy under the charge of a hip and spine specialist and was not consulted about the use of contractors.

In a few days I have to face the fracture clinic and try and get over to them that I have received no effective after care in a situation which has left me very nervous of hospital any way(the failed sedation in the operation being only one).

Though I told everybody I dealt with

I had preexisting conditions (which physio would not take into account) that I had pain and immobility in vulnerable areas and that such physio as I was given was making me worse my condition has continued to go backwards.

If the fracture clinic follow on like this I fear the worst because by being sent to contractors my deterioration has continued and remains.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Southampton General Hospital

We were very concerned and disappointed to read the feedback you have posted about your experience in the orthopaedic wards.

We would very much like to talk to you further to understand more about the issues you have raised.

Please do not hesitate to contact the patient support services on 023 8120 6325 if you would like us to investigate this further, or you can contact seAP advocacy services who will also be able to advise you.

They can be contacted on 0330 440 9001.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful