"Updated review"

About: Birmingham Women's Hospital / Maternity care

I reviewed my care when I had been here for 3 days, I have now spent a total of 14 nights here and can give a different perspective. The care care I recieved from the staff on ward 1 was excellent and continued for the 10 days I was there. The first issue I encountered was doctors seemingly not talking to each other or agreeing about the plan for me specifically delivering my twins, I was made to feel like I was a bit of a burden by one doctor and basically my condition was my own fault and they didn't agree with what my consultant had planned. That was before delivery. I had a lovely experience during my c-section everyone was wonderful. My first and second nights on ward 4 were fine, staff were busier and a bit more to the point but generally friendly helpful and caring. Then night 3 arrived and after an encounter with a midwife who clearly does not care about giving mothers choices and respect during their 'care' I was left distraught and desperate to leave as quickly as possible and my twins were traumatised for a while! As it happened, the senior midwife on the next day listened to me and suggested I make the complaint official which I did, the rest of the team were lovely but that one person completely ruined my experience. I happily retuned home with my twins only to be re-admitted when one of their jaundice took a turn for the worse. I was told that I needed to top up my babies breastfeeding with formula to try and get rid of the jaundice, which I did but when I asked for hot water to put in my bottles to prepare for later top ups later that night

I was told there is no hot water and I should have bought ready made! Not once was I told I couldn't use powder and considering I didn't even want yo give them the formula in the first place you'd think someone would mention it, well that was resolved by a lovely MA who found some ready made for me but the attitude of the midwife I asked for help from was appalling, the midwife basically told me it was tough and I wouldn't be able to feed them any formula, which obviously upset me as I was already panicking about my twins jaundice not getting better and I was scared about not following the doctors recommendations. Luckily the MA was there to comfort and help me. So my 2 weeks (so far) here have been very mixed. I think some staff members need to realise that just because they work here every day, see the same issues and worries from lots of women every day, this is a huge thing for the women bring admitted, it's a huge and scary time away from family, especially if you have to stay for any amount of time with other children missing you at home! Bedside manner re-training is a must for some of the 'know it all' staff members who can just go home and forget about the upset they might have caused in a very important time I women's lives. I am disappointed that I have to write this review as it is clearly only a few of bad apples in an otherwise good team! But they ruin it for everyone which is a shame.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Birmingham Women's Hospital

Thank you so much for taking the time to feedback about your care at BWH.

It means a great deal to hear where you have had a good experience and it is incredibly useful to receive feedback where your care has not been so positive. We are sorry to hear that you did have some concerns with your care around conflicting messages, choices and staff attitude. Please be reassured that your feedback is shared with the teams involved in your care. Your comments will help us to make improvements in our care.

If you have further feedback or would like to know more about getting involved with our Family and Patient Advisory Council, please email us on connect@bwnft.nhs.uk or ring 0121 627 2747.

Thank you!

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful