"back op cancelld for 3rd time after 81/2 hr wait"

About: University Hospital (Coventry) / Neurosurgery

Having had 2 previous appointments cancelled at short notice I attended 3rd appointment on time at 7 am and was told to sit and wait. At 9-30 anaesthetist came and took my details and stated I would be third on list for operation. 10am shown to a computer screen by another person did not introduce them self. shown a scan and discussed my operation. I pointed out that I was not having a brain scan and I was not Mr

C... Patient confidentiality was not adhered to. They said oh i will find your correct scan and come back and see you. I never saw them again.

At 11am another patient second on the list was informed his notes were in the same folder as Mr C... 11 30am first operation had not gone ahead so now I would be second on the list for op. 12 30pm after 5 1/2 hrs waiting I asked for an update. Told op should still go ahead but my notes could not be found. 13 30opm confirmed that TNT had delivered my notes and there was a bed for me. 14-30pm shown to a room blood pre4s taken wrist band put on and formal questions answered. 15-30pm asked to accompany nurse to room to be told that my operation was cancelled for the third time after waiting 8 1/2 hours. I find it difficult to put into words my thoughts and feelings. Appalling!

The NHS continually state that they have not got sufficient funds but my observations were that the number of admin staff walking about with bits of paper and standing in groups chatting could not be justify. No one of these staff could get me positive information during the day while I was waiting so what was their role. The money is not short it appears to be wasted.

I am still waiting another appointment for surgery and have asked to get operation allocated to another hospital.

It appears from previous reviews and speaking to other patients that this situation is the norm and not consideration seems to be shown for the stress anger frustration for the patient and families other than the word 'sorry' but this is not good enough.


Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from University Hospital (Coventry)

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at University Hospital, Coventry.

I am very sorry to hear about your experience.

I can appreciate that it is incredibly frustrating to have appointments cancelled, especially at short notice.

I was especially sorry to hear about the time you spent in hospital waiting for an operation which was cancelled at short notice, and that our staff did not keep you updated.

These are not the standards we set for ourselves, and I was also very concerned to hear that you had been given another patient’s details in error.

I have made sure that the Modern Matron and Manager for Neurosciences have both been informed.

If you have not spoken to them already, I would encourage you to contact the Trust’s Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0800 028 4203 so that your concerns can be looked at in more detail.

If you would prefer to contact us by e-mail, our address is feedback@uhcw.nhs.uk

Alternatively, you can write to us at the following address: - PALS University Hospital, Clifford Bridge Road, Coventry, CV2 2DX

If you do decide to contact us, please make us aware that you have left comments on the NHS Choices website.

The Trust is grateful for all feedback, positive or negative, as it means we can better understand what is important to our patients.

Thank you for leaving your comments on NHS Choices.

Communications Team

University Hospitals Coventry and Warwickshire NHS Trust Telephone 0800 028 4203

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful