"Poor accessibility for older and disabled people"

About: Salford Royal

(as the patient),

My aunty was recently admitted to hope hospital and her relatives were called in urgently.Her husband needs to use a wheelchair and my Mum who is 70 finds it very difficult to visit as it is such a long way from the car parks to the wards. My Mum struggled to push my uncle in the wheelchair (nearly having a heart attack herself) and no staff were able to help because of 'health and safety'. Shame on you for lack of design with due consideration for the needs of older and disabled people

More about:
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Salford Royal NHS Foundation Trust

The car park for patients and visitors is currently on the opposite side of Stott Lane because we have started a major programme of building work which will see brand new facilities provided on the hospital site. Because that does inevitably mean there is further to travel from the car park to the far end of the hospital, we have put on shuttle buses to transport patients and visitors from the car park to any entrance within the hospital site. We are sorry that your experience here was not so positive but we wish to reassure you that we do take very seriously the accessibility needs of all our patients.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Recently read