"Nice friendly staff, very little facility for..."

Nice friendly staff and helpful receptionist when I called in for a blood test. There are not any secure bike racks. The racks outside the doctors' surgery are those that only enable you to park and lock the front wheel only, this isn't very secure and bikes are an easy target for thieves if left this way. l left my bike locked to the barrier just outside the hospital main entrance.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Debra Johns, Patient Experience Officer, Portsmouth Hospitals NHS Trust

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your kind words with us. We are so glad that you had such a positive experience when having your blood test.

Please be assured that I will share your comments with the team involved who will be pleased to receive such positive feedback.

Kind regards.


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from Marion Brown, Head of Complaints and Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS), Portsmouth Hospitals NHS Trust We are preparing to make a change

I was also sorry to hear about the lack of facilities to secure your bike. If you would like to email us and clarify where you had your blood test then we could look into this further to try to avoid others having the same difficulty.

You mention a doctor's surgery and the hospital entrance so we are a little confused and it might be helpful to clarify. Please contact the Patient Advice and Liaison Service PHT.PALS@porthosp.nhs.uk

Kind regards


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful