"Parking is dreadful, outpatient coordination..."

Parking for outpatients appointments here is always difficult. For my appointment today I queued for the carpark from the main road, took over ten minutes to queue behind several cars to crawl around the carpark and out the other end without parking. There were 2 attendents "helping" with the parking - I think the first should not have been letting cars into the carpark if it was clear there were no spaces. The second attendant couldn't suggest any alternative parking which must be a common question they are asked. Parking: 0/5. Leave at least 20 minutes before your appointment to hunt for a space.

I got to my outpatient appointment on time, but waited 35 minutes to be seen. My doctor started explaining my last set of results and it then became clear that I had not received a copy of their last 1 or 2 letters. As a result I didn't bring some information with me to the appointment that had been requested. Given it's a 4 month wait for an appointment, to turn up without the right information due to an administrative error is almost a waste of time. My doctor described the NHS outpatients administration as "chaos" here and said they were likely to leave as a result meaning I'd have to travel to London to see them.

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from King Edward VII


Thank you for your posting. I am sorry that you had difficulty parking at King Edward V11 Hospital. I have been in touch with our Site Services Manager in East Berkshire. Unfortunately parking is a major problem. We have asked staff not to park on busy days and we have asked that meetings are not held here.

All clinics should now advise patients that parking is an issue.

We can no longer suggest alternative parking as the nearest parking is in Windsor town centre. At one time we advised patients to try the local streets. Unfortunately residents complained and most streets have now become restricted to resident permit holders only.

All we can try to do is keep the traffic moving and park people as soon as a space becomes available.

Can you contact me directly to discuss your problems with the administration within this service? I can then provide you with a full response. Alternatively, you could try your local Healthwatch organisation for assistance. Contact details can be found on our website www.berkshirehealthcare.nhs.uk

Yours Sincerely,

Trevor Lyalle

Patient Advice & Liaison Service

Berkshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust

Tel: 01189605027 e mail: bht@berkshire.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful