"Harrowden A"

About: Kettering General Hospital / Accident and emergency

I am sorry but its a busy ward but Oh my word- the level of care- I use that word carefully - as it leaves a lot to be desired- Nurses who cant take blood- cant insert canulas- I saw very sick patients being treated very unkindly- one man with an oxygen mask who had difficulty talking tried to explain his bag was leaking- to which the nurse shouted-I don't understand sign language- he was poorly- upset and they added to his upset and dignity- their lack of response involved then a complete bed change later- his buzzer was left where he couldn't not reach it- the patient I visited rang for him-Buzzer are left ringer for ages-over 45 min once time- they are easily turned off-no wonder patient's cant sleep-and are tired fed up and so irritable-and then a visitor caught a patient about to fall- patient's seem worried of they complain it will affect the care-so don't dare to complain-please have a little more thought-I appreciate you are busy- but spare a thought for those in your care-they and their families' need to feel they are safe and cared for

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Kettering General Hospital

Thank you raising these concerns. We take all reports of poor care very seriously at KGH and will investigate the issues you have raised fully. Please could you contact the Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 01536 493305 to enable us to progress with this process. We will require further details from you to fully identify the date/shift highlighted and conduct a full investigation into the concerns you have raised.

Kind regards

Sue Bryden - Lead Nurse

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful