About: Russells Hall Hospital / Gynaecology

My first visit a few weeks ago led to a good review, my recent visit a week ago is a different story. This time I was in B5 for four days. The nursing staff were overwhelmed, often stating due to staff shortages. This led to a number of times, not getting painkillers when requested the first time but having to chase them. Once while I went to the bathroom, my jug of pre CT scan juice was thrown away by staff who thought it was water. My biggest complaint though was one night after finally getting to sleep for first time in days, I was awake by a doctor and nurse arguing very loudly just outside the ward door about another patient. This should have been taken behind closed doors if this was going to happen ... so very unprofessional. Over all I was happy with the nurses and one doctor I saw but I left not looking forward to going back for my surgery in a few weeks.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Russells Hall Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your recent stay on ward B5. We always aim to offer the highest standards of care and so we are very sorry that we fell short of those standards during your visits.

We would welcome the opportunity to discuss the concerns you have raised and hopefully resolve these issues before you return to undergo surgery. Please contact the matron’s secretary on (01384) 456111 extension 2268 to arrange a meeting or telephone conversation.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful