"Worst hospital experience I have had"

About: Gloucestershire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

In general I would highly recommend Gloucester hospital, however my experience in the day surgery unit last week is an absolute let down to this hospital. Naturally when going on for an operation you are anxious and want to wait in a relaxed environment but this was the complete opposite. After receiving a letter to be at the hospital at 7.45am I was then told on arrival that I would be the last operation of the day. Why on earth would you need to be there so early to not be seen to for 8 hours? Whilst waiting alone I could have counted around 30 members of staff who at no point acknowledged my presence or gave me an update on the day. I understand NHS are busy so I let this pass. What the biggest let down of the day was the reception staff who I could only describe their attitude as disgusting. They were both rude in tone and unwilling to help in any way. As an anxious patient waiting, they could not have been less helpful! The nurses and surgery staff themselves were great and I could not fault them, however the whole experience was let down by some very rude and unfacilatating staff have made me dread returning to this ward for another procedure.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Gloucestershire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Hi there,

Many thanks for taking the time to share this feedback with us. Sorry to hear that you had such a poor experience of our services. If you haven't done so already it would be great if you were able to get in touch with our patient liaison (PALS) team who can take a few more details and look into the issues you have raised. You can contact PALS on 0800 019 3282 (Free phone) or by emailing pals.gloucestershirehospitals@glos.nhs.uk

Thank you again for raising these important issues with us.

Best wishes

The team at Gloucestershire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust