"My wife got baby recently in September 2016"

About: Leicester General Hospital / Maternity

Dear NHS, we got baby born recently in leicester general hospital. not that much happy and satisfied inside hospital, we called for operation for caesarin to take baby at 7AM, but operation done for my wife in the evening 4.30pm only. she didn't eat from a past night. Also after operation for my wife, not provided proper food for her to eat. she is not happy with how they treated her inside hospital.Also we get midwife and health visitors coming home for checking baby and my wife, but its disgusting that they are not removing their shoes. we don't use shoes inside house but all the midwifes and health visitors says its a rule not to remove shoes inside house? how come this so please acceptable when we talk about all health and safety and hygienic etc etc and we use outside shoes inside the house, will this be hygienic? i am totally not happy when i tell them to remove their shoes ,they shows their rude face and say me that we can't remove it ,its rule of NHS. when we keep our house neat and tidy, they coming as a checkup and messing around our house without removing their shoes.even i request them to put a socks on top of their shoes which they say me they can't ,which is very rude. please remember we are also humans, we keep our house neat and tidy only. we pray inside home, we never use outside dirty shoes inside house, so please change this policy because this is not hygienic when you come inside house with outside shoes.kind regards, Riaz

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leicester General Hospital

Dear reviewer, thank you for taking the time to review Maternity Services at Leicester Royal Infirmary.

We are sorry to hear that your wife's caesarean did not take place at the agreed time however due to the nature of the work in the delivery suite if there are emergencies happening in theatre then elective work is postponed.

Please accept our apologies as this should have been better explained and on the instruction of the anaesthetist we offer sips of water if we know there will be a delay in the operation.

With regards to your community visit the wearing of footwear whilst visiting women at home is a health and safety recommendation following a previous incident when a midwife did remove her shoes as requested and subsequently slipped and injured herself by falling down the stairs. All midwives will ensure that their shoes are free from obvious dirt and will dry them if necessary if a mat is made available to them. Women who do not wish them to come in with their shoes on can be offered the option of attending a post natal clinic in many areas now avoiding the need for a home visit.

As I hope you appreciate not only do we have a duty of care to our patients but to our staff as well.

We hope this clarfies the situation for you and we hope you understand the reasoning behind it.

We hope however that your wife continues to recuperate and your son/daughter is doing well, our congratulations to you as a family.

Best wishes, Communications Team, Leicester's Hospitals.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful