"Visit to Gynaecology Outpatients"

About: Liverpool Womens Hospital / Gynaecology

I would give this hospital a zero rating if it was possible I was diagnosed with stage 1b cervical cancer at Warrington hospital on 30th August I was told I would be discussed at MDT meeting at the Women's on 1/9 when I telephoned I was told I had missed that meeting even though all the information had been sent I attended Warrington for MRI and blood tests prior to my appointment today When I saw the specialist today after waiting over an hour after the time of my appointment they had no results they even said they that had not yet requested the 'sample ' from Warrington They spent most of the appointment discussing a trial that I could patrticipate in Nobody listened or asked what treatment I wanted I was told before I could have a hysterectomy I would need further tests I tried to explain that a just wanted to get the hysterectomy over with but was not listened too, I was then sent to pre op I waited again then sent to see a Cancer nurse again they wouldn't listen to my wishes Then for Ecg weight height etc Then wait again By this time I had been there three hours and I started to lose my temper Nobody explained how long it would be from one wait to another I kept getting told 'sit here it will just be a few minutes' FInally I got to see the pre op nurse and that was the worst experience they were rude and abrupt. Don't the staff at this hospital realize that people are stressed and upset and need to be treated with respect and each part of the process explained I walked out without seeing the rude pre op nurse and am now looking at paying privately as I would not step foot in this hospital again I would rather take my chances with the cancer This is the worst experience I have ever had in a hospital.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Liverpool Women's NHS Foundation Trust

We are very concerned to hear about the experience you had in our outpatient and preoperative assessment departments. Can I ask that you contact myself or Matron Gillian Walker on 0151 702 4134 to allow us to investigate this matter thoroughly, as the experience you describe is not in line with the standards we expect of our teams.

May I take this opportunity to apologise on behalf of Liverpool Women’s. Thank you for taking time to provide feedback and I hope to hear from you soon to enable us to address the concerns you have raised.

Kind Regards

Mrs Ruth Stubbs

Head of Nursing

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful