"Day Surgery Unit at Royal Infirmary, Edinburgh"

About: Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh at Little France / General Surgery

(as the patient),

I turned up for scheduled surgery at my allotted time (12pm). I knew I would have a wait, but was a wee bit shocked to hear that someone who had arrived at 9am had not been seen yet. I was seen by the nurse who was very caring and tried to put me at ease (the GA was causing me anxiety). About an hour later I was seen by the surgeon, who very confidently told me I would be in theatre in about 30 minutes. 30 minutes passed, and no move to theatre. The anesthetist arrived to go over the procedure, and suggested that due to earlier delays I might not be seen that day and my op would be cancelled. This filled me with dread I must say, and I spent the rest of the wait getting more and more worried. However, three hours after arriving, I was taken through to the ward to get prepped for surgery. The nurse who arrived from theatre to talk through things and take me to theatre was fantastic, putting me at ease very quickly. When I arrived in theatre, I was met by the full team (except surgeons) and was put at ease by the staff who cracked jokes, explained every process and before I knew it I was waking up in recovery. At this point I was met by a wonderfully kind nurse, who immediately sorted my pain out and kept me comfortable whilst I waited to be transferred to the ward. As I was the last person in recovery, my family were allowed to come in and wait with me. I was then transferred to the ward, and was met by more wonderful nurses who continues to provide great care to me during my stay. I was discharged the following morning, after a decent night in hospital (minus the lights and being woken to get obs - but this is all part of the process).

My only complaint is that I told the nurse at my pre-op that I was vegan, and was told this would not be an issue. I knew from other people's experiences that it would and therefore took my own food. Thankfully I did, as there was no food suitable for me on the ward. The only thing they could offer was black tea (which I was happy to take).

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Jeannette Morrison, Head of Patient Experience, NHS Lothian

Dear MissMac

Thank you for your feedback following your recent overnight stay at the Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh.

I was really pleased to read how the staff cared for you at what is an anxious time, although l was sorry to hear that you had to wait for a few hours for your procedure. It sounds as though we could have kept you more up to date of the length of time that you were waiting. The staff do try to put people at ease by explaining what would happen and was pleased to hear how kind the recovery nurse was and that she was able to make you more comfortable when you were in pain.

I was really sorry to hear that despite telling us in advance that you were vegan, we were not able to provide you any food, this should have happened but pleased to read that you had come prepared.

I have shared your feedback with the clinical team at the Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh so that we can try to prevent this happening to other people in the future and I wish you well for your speedy recovery.

Kind regards


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful