"I was briefed about every aspect ..."

About: Nuffield Orthopaedic Centre

(as the patient),

What I liked

I was briefed about every aspect of the operation by the surgical team and looked after by the staff on the ward. The food was ok - you welcome anything when you've been on a 19 hour 'fast'

What could be improved

The protocol for transferring from the recovery room to the ward. The staff who came to collect me from recovery didn't know who they were collecting from the recovery room and was somewhat disrespectful (with words to the recovery room staff when asked who they were there to collect- ' I don't know; I have been asked to collect a patient for Ward A). They later apologised to me without prompting the apology ...this made me think they knew they were rude/disrespectful.

Anything else?

Apart from this incident and another relating to an outpatient appointment I have had pleasant experiences at the NOC since I first visited in March 2009.

Well done to the hardworking staff.

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Nuffield Orthopaedic Centre

Thank you for posting your comments about your experience at the Nuffield Orthopaedic Centre. We are pleased that you felt you were briefed fully about every aspect of the operation by the surgical team and were happy with the time you spent on the ward.

Regarding your comments about transfer from recovery:

All patients are collected from recovery by a trained nurse from the ward they are going to. From what you say, we would assume that quite possibly due to staff shortages or a medical emergency (there must be at least two trained nurses on a ward), Ward A had asked another nurse to collect you.

However, as you quite rightly say, we would expect any nurse collecting a patient from recovery to have the basic details of the patient they are collecting and we would like to apologise for any distress caused to you.

Unfortunately, because of the limited information we have about this incident, we cannot investigate as fully as we would wish but if you would like to contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Services (PALS) on 01865 738126 or email pals@noc.nhs.uk they will be happy to investigate further.

Finally, thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments - we really do appreciate all feedback from patients. The positive comments show us that we are on the right track and those that are not quite so positive show us where we still have work to do.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful