"This hopsital has put me off having any mkre..."

About: Liverpool Womens Hospital / Maternity care

First of all I went to be checked after waiting hours to be seen finally they started monotoring my baby and my BP. I informed them my BP is constantly high even after taking My medication to control it (they ignored what i said and told me its fine if its high every time its checked) after refusing to go home and waiting a futher 2 hours for a doctor finally i got answers! They asked a series of questions (which i'd never been asked before during my pregnancy) i answered yes to every single question straight away nurses where informed and everyone rushed to my cubicle i was informed i had pre eclamsia which i informed them my mother had with me and is now high petensive because of this (they had ignored that) anyway they said because it was so serious i would have to be induced that night. I called my mum who was a 2 hr drive away and had to pay £120 to get to the hospital quickly as possible by airport transport as it was new years eve and all taxis where fully booked, when she got here i was told there were no slots for me to be induced so to go home!The next day i got a phone call and was told to come in at 10pm when i got there there was no beds even though i was booked in and was told only 1 could come in the waiting room (even though it was empty) waited at least a 2 hrs even though there was an empty bed it just needed making when i asked they said (just wait please we are busy) finally i got to the bed they hecked my bp straight away they called the doc down they repeated my bp again twice noth times it increased more so i was rushed by wheelchair to delivery suite where i was given magnesium sulphate to prevent me having a seizure because my bp was so high!! (I must hote all the time i waited since i got to the hospital my bo wasnt checked) after that didnt work they had to put a drip up which meant the stuff going into me slowly to stop my bp raising then i was induced. Agter not getting any sleep being worried about my health i asked if there was anything they could do to hurry my induction they then put up a drip to induce me which took a few more hours to work then finally i had contractions i had awful pains i was befging for medication and epidural to which they told me stop over doing it ur only 1cm dialated when they didnt even check!! After insisting they check they did and i was 4! They game me pain relief but it made me sick and dizzy so in the end they gave me an epidural (the anaesthetist was lovely) didnt even feel it. After having my baby i was so stressed with it all i had a pannic attack they refused to hive me anything and laughed i was told "this is not a genral hospital all docs are busy just go to sleep" after demanding i see a doc or i was signing myself out because i felt like i was dying a doc came and gave me meds which made me feel better. The next 3 days i was there i wasnt offered food once! When i was allowed home they refused to give my notes to me because i said i was putting in a complaint!! Awful hospital

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Liverpool Women's NHS Foundation Trust

Dear Becky,

Thank you for taking the time to raise your concerns about your experience at Liverpool Women’s Hospital.

I am sorry that you feel the midwife did not listen to your concerns and that you had a long wait before the doctor was able to review you. It is usual practise to give women a time to be scheduled for admission to start the induction of labour process. We have a diary system and schedule women throughout the day. This will mean that women move from the induction of labour bay to the Delivery Suite at varying times.

I apologise that, despite being given an appointment time, you had a further wait and when the midwife did check you, she found your blood pressure to be high so you needed to be transferred to the delivery suite.

The induction of labour process can take some time to start fully and I am sorry if the process was not fully explained to you. The injection they gave you to help with the pain can at times for some women make them feel sick and dizzy. It is usual practice for the midwife to explain this can sometimes be a side effect, and I am sorry if she failed to make this clear before she gave you the injection.

We encourage all midwives at Liverpool Women’s Hospital to act in a caring and supportive way to all women and families during and after birth. I am sorry if on this occasion you feel the level of support was less than ideal.

Your feedback will be shared at our regular midwife meeting to show how our actions impacted on your experience so that improvements can be made.

If you would like to speak to me to discuss your concerns in more detail please call our Patient Experience Team on 0151 702 4353 who will contact me. Alternatively you can contact us by email at pals@lwh.nhs.uk

Best wishes,

Fiona Bryant

Deputy Head of Midwifery

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful