"Preventable distressing experience"

About: The Tunbridge Wells Hospital

Visiting the short stay surgical unit for an an invasive procedure and suffering from PSTD from previous traumatic surgical procedures, I was treated very gently and kindly by almost all staff until I was due to go for the anaesthetic. I had been assured my husband could accompany me -as parents do for their children - but as we were about to proceed, we were curtly told by a junior member of staff "that's not going to happen" and when we politely questioned this, a senior member of staff refused to allow my husband to enter even though he was prepared to wear a gown. The tone of voice used and lack of compassion for my obvious distress triggered a panic attack. This could have been avoided. After my operation it was discovered that some of my clothes had been left in the changing room but I had to wait a further 2 hours after discharge before they were finally returned and I could get dressed. Sadly, although most of the staff appear to know how to treat patients with respect and kindness, the two mentioned above do not.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from The Tunbridge Wells Hospital

We're sorry that you had such a distressing experience when you attended for your procedure last year.

We apologise for the delay in responding to your review, however, we are aware that you contacted the Trust to raise this issue directly and we have been able to work with you to try to resolve this matter.

Kind regards, The PALS Team.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful