"Ward 10 - Induction of labour"

About: University Hospital Of North Durham / Maternity care

On arrival at the unit we had to ring the bell for ward 10 several times before it was answered and we were buzzed in. The staff at the desk were busy discussing holiday dates and we had to wait for them to finish their conversation. I was shown to a bed and, left for over an hour before anyone came to talk to us and explain what would happen. After being given a time of 5pm to arrive it was after 9pm when I was finally examined. Due to suffering from SPD I struggled to undress and had nowhere to put my things so had to get on the bed while keeping hold of them as the midwife stood waiting for me to be ready which made me feel rushed and uncomfortable. After getting onto the bed I was offered a sheet of paper to protect my modesty.

No help was offered afterwards for me to get back up or dressed. I have had two previous pregnancies and have never felt such indignity. I was then left following a period of monitoring and told I would be re checked in 6 hours but I was left 11 hours until a consultant turned up to check why no one was dealing with me. Luckily for me the consultant made some calls and I was taken round to ward 8 where the care couldn’t have been better thanks to a fantastic midwife in stark contrast to my experience to date. The consultant on ward 8 decided I shouldn’t return to ward 10 and luckily they broke my waters and I gave birth about 5 hours later. I would advise that if you can avoid it don’t opt for an induction unless you want a really awful experience and lack of care.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from University Hospital Of North Durham

Dear Paula

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent experience on Ward 10 at the University Hospital of North Durham.

I am very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your experience on this occasion and we will make sure your feedback is passed to the Ward Manager and the Matron to share with the staff on your behalf.

I am pleased that your experience on Ward 8 was however much better.

We would welcome the opportunity to discuss your concerns with you and if you would like to contact us with your name and some more details it would enable the Matron/Manager to look into your concerns for you.

If you feel this would be useful please contact the Trust’s Patient Experience Team on 0800 7835774.

If you would prefer to contact us by e-mail, our address is cdda-tr.patientexperiencecddft@nhs.net

If you do decide to contact us, please make us aware that you have left comments on the NHS Choices website.

The Trust is grateful for all feedback, positive or negative, as it means we can better understand what is important to our patients.

Thank you for leaving your comments on NHS Choices.

Patient Experience Team

County Durham and Darlington NHS Foundation Trust

Tel: 0800 7835774

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful