"Extremely disappointed"

About: The Tunbridge Wells Hospital

I have been waiting to receive my appointment for my 12week pregnancy scan and had had to chase the hospital for the appointment.

I eventually got the letter, which gave me 1 week notice.

Unfortunately due to a work commitment that had been in place for months and was unable to be changed I couldn't make the appointment they were giving me.

We called to try to re-arrange only to be told that they are under staffed and that's the only appointment, if I cant make it then I cant have a 12 week scan.

I am now without a 12 week scan or blood test.

I am having to go to a private clinic who will scan me but cant offer the same type of checks the NHS does such as the downs syndrome check and they cant give me a written report.

Having suffered a miscarriage earlier in the year I am extremely disappointed and disgusted by it all I am very very upset.

I was hoping the hospital would have improved since I had given birth to my son in 2014 as that was an awful experience as well, the mid wife who delivered him was so rude, hardly spoke to me only to be rude, I had my son at 10.30pm and was left in the labour room with no cot to put my son in and wasn't moved until 6.30am.

I had to stay awake all night holding him, anytime I asked if I was being moved I was told soon.

Im praying I never have to go back to this hospital, I am hoping to have my baby at Crowborough where they are all very kind.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from The Tunbridge Wells Hospital

We were really sorry to learn of the difficulties you experienced in arranging your 12 week scan and your experience when having your son in 2014.

Unfortunately, we didn't receive notification that your review had been posted and are sorry that as a result, we were not able to respond to you at the time.

While the demand for scan appointments can be high making rescheduling difficult, we would have expected the booking staff to liaise with the midwifery team to make them aware of the problems you were having in attending the appointment, so that they could make sure you were appropriately followed-up.

If you would like to discuss your experience further, please contact the Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 01892 632953 where a member of staff will be happy to help.

Kind regards, The PALS Team.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful