"Appointment system lacking"

About: One To One Centre

I called the One to One Centre today to book an appointment for a contraceptive implant to be removal (it is overdue removal as no appointments were available at either my GP nor other contraceptive services around, e.g. Newcroft Centre Newcastle). I was told I had to call on the day I wanted to come in and see if there was time available. The receptionist was abrupt, assumed I new this system was in place, and was quite rude to me when I asked if it would be possible to book an appointment some time away (even weeks) if it meant I could have this in the diary to plan my work around it. They refused this, stating they had no appointments available (without checking any system). Needless to say I am very frustrated with the lack of service, how I was spoken to, and the system that is running (or lack thereof!).

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from One To One Centre

Dear Sir/Madam,

Firstly please let me apologise for the delay in getting back to you, NHS Choices are currently having problems with notifying us about new reviews.

I am very disappointed to hear about the poor manner in which you were spoken to by our reception team at The One to One Centre, please accept my apologies. I will raise this with the team to make sure we’re doing everything we can to be as helpful as possible to everyone who gives us a call.

Have you managed to make an appointment with us? If not, I can ask a member of the team to give you a call to arrange a slot at a time to suit you? Please email me with your details at Annie.Laverty@nhct.nhs.uk.

Apologies again for the unnecessary frustration, looking forward to hearing from you.

All the best,


Annie Laverty – Director of Patient Experience

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful