"Fracture clinic seems stretched to the limit"

About: Royal Berkshire Hospital / Trauma and orthopaedics

I attended the Royal Berks fracture clinic today after being discharged from a hospital in South Wales at the weekend. I had been asked to attend the fracture clinic by the Welsh hospital to help build upon their initial findings which they believed were not conclusive. I met with a consultant who had clearly not read the materials I provided (a letter from the Welsh hospital and a disc of images from the CT scan), and to be honest both myself and my wife felt that I was being fobbed off in an attempt to get rid of us. I learned nothing new today, and I left the hospital being told not to return for 6 weeks at which point they would reassess my condition when hopefully I can load bear on both legs. My concern is that only a part of the issues with my hip/pelvis has been uncovered, and was hoping these specialists could help us fill in the rest of the story. The only reason they prescribed us any anti coagulant medication is because I asked for it. There seems to be a lack of will to join up the care between health care trusts and carry something forward which is disappointing, and my personal view is it was easier to push me away than look more closely into the issue which is really disappointing as a good chunk of the ground work has already been done at Merthyr (X-Ray / CT scan / assessments). Needless to say I didn't have confidence in this consultation and have returned to my GP so I can be sent for a second opinion at another hospital. Therefore I've had a 40 mile round trip to Reading, parking charges and the general inconvenience of the round trip for no benefit. I wish I'd stayed at Merthyr Tydfil on reflection as they were excellent.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Berkshire Hospital

Thank you for your feedback. The Orthopaedic Outpatient team have looked into the details of your visit and understand that you attended without a prior appointment but the receptionists were able to fit you in to the busy schedule as we had some unexpected vacancies. The junior doctor (not a consultant) who saw you fully discussed your injury with you and your wife and outlined the management plan. He explained that toe touch weight bearing was required with a potential of full weight bearing after 6 weeks - hence the follow-up appointment arranged for 6 weeks time. The doctor did ask if you had any questions, raised the subject of DVT prophylaxis with you and went through the computerised images on the disc with you and your wife. Given that you attended without a prior appointment, the doctor would not have had an opportunity to read the one-page report or view the CD from the Merthyr hospital beforehand. We are sorry if these actions did not meet your expectations but we believe the appropriate clinical care was provided in the circumstances.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful