"Lack of compassion"

About: Blackpool Victoria Hospital / Accident and emergency

Attended A&E yesterday following having an accident causing injury to my right ankle and left knee. I was seen by an Advanced Nurse Practitioner whose attitude was lacking in any care and compassion and as a senior nurse myself upsets me to criticise another nurse. Their questioning of my injuries and history was curt and abrupt and was quick to correct us when they did not receive answers to questions they were not happy with. The nurse challenged me more than once about a procedure on my ankle stating that I had had surgery on it which I had not. The xray showed the needle for giving an injection into the joint not a pin as they said it was.

Their attitude did change slightly when i informed them that I was a member of hospital staff and had been for many years but regardless of that they should be a little more compassionate. I was in a great deal of discomfort and the procedure she did made feel feel extermely sick. I know A&E is extremely busy and staff do have a hard time and are under pressure . I would love to be heaping praise but on this occasion I cannot and im sorry.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Andrew Heath, Lead in Patient Experience & Engagement, Blackpool Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for taking time to leave your feedback about your recent experience.

I am sorry that you felt that you were treated without care and compassion and did not feel listened too. It is important as an organization we ensure that we listen to the events you have described.

I will share your comments with the Senior Managers of that team so that they can ensure there is learning from your experience. To support this learning and to fully explore your concerns, if you feel this is right for you please contact our Patient Relations team directly on


so that we can get further details about what happened and ensure that your concerns are fully investigated.

Thank you once more for taking the time to share your experience


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful