"Not Happy"

About: Royal Bournemouth General Hospital / Accident and emergency

I visited A&E on Friday night, and was feeling low and vulnerable at the time... Unfortunately I was very upset by the remarks given from the nurse. The nurse thought it was adequate to pass judgement on me and possibly discriminate on me, persisting I should not have prescription medication and purchase over the counter medication instead. To my misfortune, I have a medical exemption and would hate for someone in the same position as me to go through the same scenario.

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Bournemouth General Hospital

Dear ‘JG’

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent visit to our Emergency Department and we are sorry you were left feeling upset by comments made by the nurse attending you.

Due to the nature of the issues you have raised I passed your comments on to the department manager and also the Matron who have asked me to convey their sincere apologies for the negative experience you had.

As a department they will review the staff training needs around medical exemption so that other patients are not faced with the same issues you experienced.

The department you be happy to discuss the matter further with you directly on 01202 704062

Once again we apologise that on this occasion your experience with us was negative and hope that you find any further visits to be better.


Patient Experience Team

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful