"An MRI scan on my knee"

About: Pilgrim Hospital / Trauma and orthopaedics

(as the patient),

I arrived at the pilgrim Boston hospital around and hour early having never attended this hospital before. My mobility is poor due to the fact my knee will be needing a operation. Firstly there was no one to help both myself and disabled wife on the long journey of corridors ahead, when we finally arrived in the waiting room, there was no water available or toilets in the area and it was a very hot day so that would have been nice. I was then marched down the very same corridors and out into a lorry parked outside which had the mobile unit inside. The steps up were very difficult for me and again no assistance was offered. When I entered the MRI Unit I was treated with the minimum of care and almost felt I was a burden to the staff inside, their care towards me was very rude ( I'm a larger gentlemen) as if my weight has caused my knee problem and so they couldn't be bothered. I should have explained it was an injury from my time in the British Army and as I'd of liked some more respect as the care was very shoddy in my opinion.

I was not helped up on to the bed and was made to take off my own shoes while in lots of pain. Then was told if it was causing me so much pain then I 'should leave' in a tone I found very distasteful.

When the scan had been completed the nurse then removed the clamp which was so unprofessional, I actually screamed! Another nurse then ran in asking what was going on to which they replied... 'I'm trying to remove this'. I was shocked, the other nurse then took over and looked at me and said I could go. No help again getting off the bed or putting on my shoe. Once I'd finally got to leave the unit I was offered some assistance to get back to the area my wife had been waiting for me.. I will add that they only took me half way gave me some very quick directions and left me to find my way back. We were told the receptionist would take our ticket and want to look at our "Blue badge" to prove we only need to pay £1. 50p parking, which we did happily, I found the the receptionists rudeness shocking as they ripped up our ticket and said 'you ain't gotta pay the barrier is stuck open! '

Charming Attitude! !

I couldn't wait to get out of there..

I found it a horrible experience and I will never never step foot in that hospital again ... Marks out of 10?

It's a 0 from us

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from United Lincolnshire Hospitals NHS Trust

Dear Patient 885,

I’m sorry that you have had a poor experience whilst visiting our hospital. Your comments are greatly appreciated.

We have 3 MRI scanners in this Trust, capable of scanning 24,000 patients per year. However, we are receiving 31,000 request for MR imaging, so we are beyond our capacity by 7,000 patients. We have no choice but to bring in outside companies to help us do this scanning, and often, because of the constraints of the hospital sites, this usually entails parking an MRI lorry wherever we can. These companies are strictly assessed for this quality and care before we allow them on site. However, this can occasionally lapse due to the large workloads we are under.

I will pass your comments on to the company involved, and find out why this happened. Unfortunately, as I do not know your name, it will be hard to find out which members of staff were involved. This company is working for us, and we expect the same standards as ourselves. We will be investigating to prevent this happening again.

Once again, my apologies.

Chris Bilton

MRI Service Lead