"Cancelled operation and mis-diagnosis"

About: Maidstone District General Hospital / Gynaecology

(as the patient),

Suffered with stomach pains for years, heavy and constant bleeding and low iron levels. Had numerous ultrasound scans which did not show anything and eventually a laparoscopy in 2015 after having to research myself and suggest possble adhesions as a resukt of c sections.

Adhesions were presented and treated in laparoscopy. Pain still present and seemingly more severe every month. GP's were unsympathetic, insisting that I take anti-depressants before they would refer me for treatment.

Eventually referred to a different consultabt who ordered an MRI scan, which discovered lesions behind stomach muscle. Put on list for further keyhole surgery for adhesions and open surgery to treat lesions. This was in feb '16.

After calling on a number of occasions, and being told consultants lists were cancelled due to a lack of beds, was given a date in mid July for operation.

Booked time off work, arranged childcare, parents and husband all took unpaid leave, op cancelled evening before surgery.

Rescheduled for 9 days later, I came to hospital again, parents and husband unable to take any more leave so young children being passed around friends for next week. Sit waiting for 6 hours to be told operation cancelled again. They advised me of this at 5. 30pm and said that the surgery closes at 6pm. The previos patient was not taken in to surgery until 2. 45pm (despite us both having sat there waiting since 11am) so must have been apparent to the surgeon very early on that there would not be enough time to complete my surgery, but still, I was not informed until 5. 30pm, where I then had to wait in the hospital for a further 90 minutes for my husband to leave work (unpaid again due to leaving early) to collect me.

Rescheduled for end of august, and after getting to the hospital for 7am, and again having to arrange unpaid leave and childcare with several different friends, am informed at 10. 30 that my operation has been cancelled yet again. This time due to lack of beds. Helpfully I was advised that somebody should have contacted me the day before but hadnt. I am sitting outside the PALS office trying to see if they can arrange me transport home (which the reception refused to assist with because I am not on benefits! ) as my husband is once again at work and I did not bring my purse (told not to bring valuables. ) I have been waiting in a corridor outside PALS for 30 minutes and not a lot appears to be happening. What little faith I had in the NHS has depleted.

I am living in constant pain with no answers as to when I will receive my treatment. I am dependent on codeine, which concerns me, and I have no quality of life and my children are suffering from the restrictions that my poor health and pain place on me.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Maidstone District General Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

I'm sorry for the delay in replying, but unfortunately we didn't receive notification that your review had been posted.

I recall your visit to the PALS office last year and am aware that a further admission date was arranged for you after contacting us.

I'm sorry it took a while to resolve your transport situation that day; as I explained at the time, PALS do not hold cash and I had to liaise with the directorate management team to find a solution.

I'm sorry that you had such a difficult time and appreciate how frustrating and upsetting this was for you.

I'm aware that we investigated this matter as a formal complaint at your request.

I hope that you have made good progress since your surgery.

With kind regards, Angela Savage, Complaints & PALS Manager.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful