"Inpatient on Rose Ward"

About: Queen Mary's Hospital / Mental health care

(as the patient),

I was admitted to Rose Ward in Queen Marys Hospital during the night where I was seen by a nice duty doctor and friendly nurses.

This gave me hope that this ward would have a compassionate, friendly consultant but I was left disappointed.

In the morning I was seen by the consultant who I felt was intimidating. I felt they forced a diagnosis on me that my team in the community had expressed doubts about, and we were looking into a different diagnosis. I tried to explain but they seemed harsh and replied bluntly to each thing I said with a reason for why I was wrong. This left me confused and upset.

Even when I was crying the consultant had no empathy. I felt like I wasn't being treated as a human being but a text-book case study. The worst thing is that they told me they had gone through my records and it saddens me that after all the things I have been through in life they were talking down to me like that. I don't know what human being can have a crying and unwell person in front of them, who has been through trauma, and behave like they are a naughty child in denial.

I walked out of the meeting distressed, and so I discharged myself. The nurses tried to help. They were kind. They sat with me and told me to stay for a few days - they said to give the ward a chance to assess me and the nurses could advocate for me. But I left because I didn't feel safe being looked after by a doctor who had just said all of those things. Additionally, I was given none of my morning or mid-day medication on that day. I felt this ward was not going to do anything to help.

That day when I got home as I had already missed two doses I decided to stop all of my medication for good because of comments the consultant made about my medication in that same meeting. I went into another crisis the following day and I had to be persuaded by professionals to go back on the meds.

I am disappointed that wards employ unkind doctors to look after unwell and very distressed patients. I see the words 'compassion' and 'caring' on the NHS Lanyards that staff wear but those qualities weren't apparent in this case apart from the nice nurses and duty doctor that I met.

Please look into this and ask other patients about their experience. I don't think I'm the only one after having spoken to other people on the ward.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Jane Healey, Patient Experience Lead, Governance, South West London and St George's Mental Health Trust

Dear penguin123,

My name is Jane and I one of the Patient Experience Leads for the Trust. Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience and for the kind words about the duty doctor and the friendly nurses on Rose Ward.

I am very concerned to learn of the negative experience you had with the consultant on the ward and would like to apologise for the distress this has clearly caused. I will be forwarding your views onto the ward manager and the operational manager for the service in order that they can address the concerns you have raised.

If you would like this to be looked into as a formal complaint then please contact the Trustr Patient Experience Team who will be able to investigate for you. The team can be contacted either via email at complaintsmanager@swlstg-tr.nhs.uk or by telephone on 0203 513 6150.

Kind regards

  • penguin123 thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} other {{helpful-1 == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} so too

Update posted by penguin123 (the patient)

Thanks for your reply. If i make a formal complaint does this affect my treatment? How does it work?

Response from Jane Healey, Patient Experience Lead, Governance, South West London and St George's Mental Health Trust

Hi, the Trust Patient Experience Department which handles complaints is completely separate from the clinical services. We would obviously need to speak to staff in the service when investigating your complaint but no record of your complaint is allowed to be made on your electronic clinical record and it should not affect your care in any way.

If you would like independent support or advice regarding yourcomplaint you can also contact the NHSComplaints Advocacy organisation on 0300 330 5454. Their email address is nhscomplaints@voiceability.organd their website is www.nhscomplaintsadvocacy.org

I hope this is helpful but please let me know if you have any further queries

Kind regards


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful