"Staff are Bigots. Do not use if you want to..."

About: Rotherham Hospital / Maternity care

Please do not use this or any other Rotherham maternity unit if you want to keep your baby and you if have had any history with the police even if just arrested and not charged and I mean anything. They will try to take your baby. I've just been told by social services that because I've been arrested I must have done something even though I wasn't even charged for a crime. The staff are Bigots and will not listen to you if you have requests they find annoying or don't understand or takes them any time. I was reported to social services for joking with my partner I wanted to read a book whilst she was in labour. They even commented on the book I was reading. It was a science fiction book. I have already complained to the hospital but please if you read this think twice about using Rotherham hospital. They are very limited in special care facilities and for anything serious you will be sent to a different hospital anyway because they don't have all the equipment. It seems they are also not able to fully staff themselves either as when asked for a different doctor were told none were available just one for all the beds in maternity. Stay away

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Samantha Robinson, Head of Patient Experience, The Rotherham NHS Foundation Trust

Hello my name is Samantha. I am sorry to hear of your experience whilst your partner was on the labour ward recently. I note that you have submitted your concerns in the form of a complaint and hope that these are resolved to your satisfaction. However if you wish to discuss the matter further, please contact our Patient Experience Team on 01709 424461. With best wishes.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful