"2Yr Wait! Operation 12/15 back 4 times+its..."

About: Lister Hospital

Poor,poor, poor! After waiting 2yrs for knee replacement, I had to write to my mp to get things done! Had the operation Dec 2014 & it was not right. Re admitted 3 weeks after the op, & again in Feb 2015 now my knee is always swollen, cant walk very far without pain & it swelling. Consultant was rude & kept telling me this is "normal" despite having 10yrs in ambulance service, wife works as specialist nurse & father-in-law a retired g.P. The consultant got so fed-up they tried to accuse me of being aggressive at one appointment!! Fortunately, my wife was present & we could see what they were trying to do by getting me off their list by saying I was aggressive!

Finally after months of "this is normal" the consultant suggested

I could see another surgeon for a 2nd opinion. So I'm awaiting to see the consultant but I have had a private physio look at my knee and they report that the swelling is down to the back of the patella not being cleaned/ smoothed! Plus, its generally accepted that the rear of the patients patella has a plastic protection film stuck to the back of it, unfortunately mine has neither! The private physio also thinks that my patella is off centre by 20-25mm!!

The treatment that I had to endure just by the consultant has been disgusting, condescending and arrogant. I'm 60yrs old but I have never experienced such poor treatment not only by the consultant but also on ward 5 too. When the ward was fully staffed things were great,however, more often than not the ward was severely under staffed. One night at 2am a patient started having hallucinations & became exceptionally aggressive, the 2 nurses on duty were in danger of being hit as the patient was swinging a metal drip stand around. As I was the only other patient+being mobile(on crutches, 3 days post op') I helped by trying to talk them into giving up their weapon. After an hour or so I realised that I was on my own,the staff had walked off leaving me with this patient swinging a metal drip stand around! The patient even smashed the wall & cupboards by their bed. My concern was not only for myself but also 2 other bed-bound patients who could easily have been injured!

After some 2 to 3 hours I eventually managed to calm them & get the metal pole off them! Im not looking for a bravery award or anything like that, only this should never have been allowed & putting myself & those nearby in extreme danger of injury!

The 2 staff members left me in danger, not to mention the 2 bed-bound patients! They were only interested in getting their routine work done & when I got away they were drinking tea/coffee at the nurses station!! Very professional(I dont think!)

I was exhausted mentally & physically. Never have I seen or experienced such a dangerous situation within a hospital. Their actions were totally unacceptable & unprofessional but down to not enough staff being available?.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Lister Hospital

We're really sorry that your experience of the orthopaedics team's care here at the Lister was not good.

If you have not done so already, the please consider making a formal complaint so that all of the matters raised above can be investigated thoroughly and lessons learnt - whilst we can't undo what's happened, if there are areas where change is needed, then it is still important that this happens.

If you are willing for such an investigation to be undertaken on your behlaf, please contact us at generalenquiries.enh-tr@nhs.net.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful