"Poor hygiene, plus lack of wheelchairs"

About: Stoke Mandeville Hospital

Ward 16B - Washroom and toilet not cleaned from 29July to 2nd August, cleaner wiped toilet seat with dry cloth, then wiped round the sink basin with same cloth, patient cleaned sink herself with antibacterial wipes. After a half hearted attempt to sweep the ward, still managed to leave a sizeable amount of debris under bed. Cleaner then left to repeat the process in the next ward.

On discharge, distance to car park, was more than I could manage after undergoing major surgery the previous day, wheelchair was not offered, until, whilst resting on route, a nurse from another department arranged for wheelchair after seeing discomfort/distress I was in.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Buckinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments of feedback following your admission as a patient to Ward 16B at Stoke Mandeville Hospital.

We are concerned to learn that you had witnessed a hospital cleaner carry out their task in an unhygienic manner and that you were not offered a wheelchair at the point of discharge, until a nurse passing by from another department offered you assistance. I can understand how concerning and worrying this must have been for you at a time of undergoing major surgery.

Please be assured your anonymous comments will be passed to the relevant manager for the service.

If you are happy to share more detail about your specific expeirence with us, please contact our dedicated Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 01296 316042 or email PALS@buckshealthcare.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful