"Highly recommend this hospital but advice to..."

About: Birmingham Women's Hospital

I'm 26weeks pregnant when I was into early labour I was brought in from Gloucestershire hospital. The care I received on ward one from all midwifes and specially student midwifes was amazing can't fault one bit. Being a single parent and first baby in a place no where near my home I was very nervous and scared but they went out their way to make me feel very comfortable and re ensuring me. All the ward staff was so friendly and nice, ward was kept very clean. I attended with my mum.

The restaurant dining room downstairs was horrible, the staff was very rude and all sat around on their phones and very inappropriate talking, the restaurant was very dirty and food was dry and cold. Such a shame as the rest of hospital is very very good.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Birmingham Women's Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to feedback and we are really pleased to hear that you had a positive experience with us. However, we are really sorry to hear that your dining experience wasn't so good.

We have shared your feedback with our Catering team who are very disappointed with this feedback which is clearly not good enough. We do receive great comments for our food which is cooked fresh on site everyday and we are very proud of the catering service we provide to our patients, staff and visitors and we have excellent results for cleanliness across the whole hospital. However, your comments have been taken on board, we can only apologise that things weren't to our normal high standard on this occasion. Thank you once again and wishing you all the best with your new baby.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful