"Poor management of spinal clinics"

About: Manchester Royal Infirmary

My son was referred to see someone about his spine and it's taken about 15 phone calls trying to get the the correct person. When I did finally speak to the spinal secretary, they said it would be December time the appointment would be sent. This is 6 months after the referral was done. Pals had ' nothing on the system' and I was told the manager would ring me... No phone call yet. Breach of the NHS constitution and poor communication leading to poor care.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Patient Experience Team, Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

We were very sorry to receive your comments and concerns via the NHS Choices website regarding your experience of communication with the spinal team and the difficulties you have experienced with this. We must apologise for the prolonged wait you have had with receiving an appointment following your son's referral and for the difficulties you have had in trying to contact the correct department for an update as we understand how distressing this must be.

It is very difficult to be able to investigate the reasons for any delay and subsequently respond accurately to the specific concerns you have raised without being able to investigate in detail. We take all issues surrounding patient care very seriously and would very much like to hear from you directly about this.

Spinal Surgery is not a service that is currently available at Manchester Royal Infirmary and we would therefore encourage you to contact us, so that we can confirm where your son's treatment is taking place. We can then communicate with the correct team to ensure that you receive information regarding his next appointment.

If you contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0161 276 8686 or by e-mailing pals@cmft.nhs.uk they will be happy to discuss this with you.