"put in vulnerable position at prospect park..."

my father was originally in prospect park,eventually told to try and find a residential home for him.we did this and moved him into Lakeside home.

All staff at prospect were aware he was going to Lakeside.

After a couple of days the manager of Lakeside told us that dad could no longer stay at lakeside due to aggression which needed specialised nursing.

The manager of Lakeside was really sorry and said they had not been told everything by Prospect Park when the assessment was done.

I met some really nice Doctors at Lakeside that same day, they assessed dad and decided he should be back in Prospect.

i took dad to Prospect in my car with a Doctor following me incase anything happened.

We arrived in Prospect Park and told i would have to wait with my father in a small family room until another Doctor admitted him back into Prospect.

I sat in this room from 7.30pm until 10.50pm when eventually a Doctor arrived.

I made it clear i wasn't happy being left for this time let alone with a patient that was being very aggressive previously.

I suffer from Arthritis and missed a lot of my meds that evening, i pointed this out to the staff but all they could do was apologise and told me i had to wait with my Father!

This was on 08/08/2016.

Today on 18/08/2016 i was asked to be at Rowan ward at 13.15 so i could sit in with the doctors as to what the plan is for my Fathers treatment/medication as this was the day they did the rounds.

This appointment was also written in the ward diary a few days previous.

Turned up at 13.15 to find my dad not in a good way, i won't go into what i had to clean up!

At 14.11 i asked a nurse when i could see the Doctor as arranged?

The Doctors were in a meeting but the nurse kindly asked them about my meeting at 13.15.

The answer i got was "that won't be happening today"

Do these people not speak to each other?

Really annoyed with the way things have gone at Rowan ward.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Prospect Park Hospital


Thank you for your posting and please accept my apologies for the delay in responding.We are sorry that you were unhappy with the care provided to your father at Prospect Park Hospital. I have been in touch with the Ward Manager and I am now in a position to respond.

When your father was assessed prior to being admitted to a residential home, the assessor did not speak to staff on the ward as they did not wait for her to finish what she was doing. The assessment was made on family information only.

This is not normal practice and the ward manager was unaware that your father was admitted to the residential home under these circumstances. We will learn from this event and ensure that communication is improved so that accurate assessments can be formulated in future.

When you arrived at Prospect Park Hospital with your father, the doctor was already completing another admission to the hospital, as he was the duty doctor. We apologise for the delay in admitting your father and we realize the importance of keeping patients and relatives informed and comfortable when waiting to be seen by staff.

We are sorry that, on the 18/08/2016, you found your father to not be in a good way. I understand that your father was on the floor as he constantly took the bed apart. Unfortunately, your father is at times incontinent.

I would like to add on a positive note that your father settled quickly on his return to the ward and these situations were ameliorated.

There is an entry in the ward diary to the effect that you would like to attend the ward round but you would be better advised to attend the Care programme Approach meeting on the 23/09/2016.There are times when we say to relatives that if they are on the ward during ward round then we will ask the doctors if they can see them. It appears that there was not time and this was a suggestion rather than an appointment itself. It was unfortunate that you could not attend the ward round and we are sorry that you were inconvenienced in this manner. I understand that you were contacted during the next day and I hope that you found the update on your father's care to be reassuring.

I hope that this addresses your concerns. Please contact me should you wish to discuss this further. Alternatively, you could contact your local Healthwatch organisation for assistance. Contact details can be found on our website www.berkshirehealthcare.nhs.uk

Yours Sincerely,

Trevor Lyalle

Patient Advice & Liaison Service

Berkshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust

Tel: 0118 9605027 e mail: bht@berkshire.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful