"Out Patients Eye Clinic"

About: Falkirk Community Hospital

(as the patient),

I had an appointment with a doctor In Falkirk Out Patients recently. 

I arrived in good time for my appointment and was called through from main waiting area at allotted time. I sat outside the doctor's consulting room and saw the doctor arrive about 5mins later with a sandwich and a bottle which appeared to be their lunch.

After waiting for approximately 1 hour, during which time no one entered or left the consulting room, and with no communication from anyone in the system, I was becoming understandably impatient and approached a nurse to ask for confirmation that I would be seen soon, since, if not, I would be leaving the clinic. The nurse looked in the doctor's room and said that they were on the telephone. I asked for more than that and she informed them of my views.

Almost 20 mins later the doctor called me to their room with no apology or explanation for the inordinate delay. After a quick check of my eyes which showed no improvement from previous consultation, their initial advice was to continue with previous treatment. After some pleading on my behalf an alternative treatment was prescribed. I phoned hospital on the following day to request that my next appointment be with someone other than this doctor, since I was very disappointed at the medical approach to dealing with my problem and was given my next appointment with another doctor.

The main reason however for expressing my opinion on this forum is to convey my views on the totally discourteous, and indeed rude and offhand way I was treated as a patient and as a human being.

When I left the clinic in tears I was hugely disappointed at the fact that I was offered no positive thoughts for going forward, having been asked to continue with treatment that was very obviously having no effect. This disappointment was however dwarfed by my hurt and anger at the way I was treated as a person by someone who showed no regard for me either as a patient requiring help or an individual expecting the common courtesy and decency we all owe to each other.

I am not sure exactly what I expect from this but felt moved to express feelings which have not diminished in any way during the period since my disappointing experience

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from NHS Forth Valley

Dear Disgusted Dunblane

I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about your recent experience, and would like to apologise for your experience, this is not the kind of care and treatment we expect our patients to be offered.

This was a very poor experience and as a team we were saddened to hear that you left the department anxious and upset without any support or assistance offered by our staff, this is not how we want our patients to feel.

I feel as a department that it is important that we use this feedback to improve the service we provide,and wondered if you would be willing to contact me to discuss your expereince further, and also for me to look into the request you have made to see another doctor at your next appointment. My contact details are, Kirsty Hyslop, Ophthalmic Advanced Nurse Practitioner, Tel: 01324 673570 or alternatively you can email me on kirstyhyslop@nhs.net

I look forward to hearing from you and again please accept my apologies.

Kindest regards

Kirsty Alsop

Ophthalmic Advanced Nurse Practitioner

NHS Forth Valley

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful