"Nursing unprofessionalism at it's worst"

About: BMI the Edgbaston Hospital

I was pleased with the hospital conditions and my consultant is excellent however following an operation and while still recovering from general anaesthetic I was having trouble making a decision about whether I wanted sleeping pills to help me sleep because I sometimes have reactions to pills. The nurse was extremely abrupt when I was trying to decide and even more abrupt and unhappy when I took the painkillers offered but decided to take the sleeping tablets a little later, on their own. The nurse went away and I went to find them and ask for a drink when I overheard them and the other nurse having the most vitriolic outburst about me for deciding to take these drugs a little later. The nurse was telling the story of what I had said in a very sarcastic and rude manner and then they called me 'stupid' as I came around the corner. to confront them. After I had confronted the nurse and explained I am not stupid and had also heard everything they said, the nurse apologised and explained it was because it was a monitored drug or something but as I had never had surgery before and they hadn't even mentioned this I had no idea what the nurse meant by this. This was the worse display of unprofessional behavior I have ever experienced and the nurse only apologised because I had caught them out. I came here as an NHS patient and had been considering coming here privately in future for a few things but I will not be coming back here and will not recommend it. I was shocked and upset by this experience. I had one other nurse who was very good but this display was totally uncalled for.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from BMI the Edgbaston Hospital

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at BMI Edgbaston, I am pleased that you found our Hospital, consultant and some of our staff good within your stay however, I am very concerned to hear of the experience you outline with a member of our nursing team. Can I ask that you contact me or my Director Of Clinical Services Sam Tolliday with further details to allow us to investigate this matter thoroughly as the standard of service described is not in line the Nursing Standards expected of our teams.

May I take this opportunity to apologise on behalf of BMI Edgbaston, I hope to hear from you soon to allow us to address this matter.

Best Regards

Clare Austin

Executive Director

BMI Edgbaston Hospital

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful