"still dont know whats happening"

About: Manchester Royal Infirmary

i attended on Sunday with a fracture the reception was nice didn't wait too long to see triage nurse who was a bit short of empathy and made me feel like another number and something to tick off on their sheet ,after this i waited and saw the fracture nurse who was lovely and had an x-ray,i then saw the consultant who said they were going to re -set the fracture under local, this all went well and then i was taken for my next x-ray,i waited about another half hour after the x-ray,for a nurse who came and took the needle out of my hand and was told i could go home, i wasn't seen by the consultant again or advised about pain relief- or given any info other than someone would ring me tomorrow.this is appalling i was in a lot of pain all on Sunday night and wasn't sure if i could aspirin or paracetamol etc ,i waited most of Monday for someone to ring and in the end i had to chase up,what was happening to be told there had been a mix up with my phone number ,i wouldn't mind but i was asked by 4 people what my number was obliviously they weren't checking just reeling of what they had to say. i was told i needed an operation and they would ring me in the next few days to let me when to come in , i still don't know what type of operation it is or why they are doing i have just been told this is what they are doing,,,again being treated like a number ...it would be nice to actual be consulted on what the operation is and what it entails before the consultant has made their decision at the end of the day its my choice not there...i also asked about transferring to my local hospital in rochdale to be told this wasn't possible and i would have to represent via accident and emergency in rochdale -on top of this i work and can't advice my employer what happening as i don't know whats happening

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Patient Experience Team, Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for your feedback and kind words regarding the welcoming response from reception staff.

We were very sorry to receive your comments and concerns via the NHS Choices website about your experiences. It is clear that the communication with you was inadequate and did not meet our expectations. We apologise for the omission in failing to obtain a correct mobile number from you. Lead Nurse Bartlett is concerned that you have been told you need an operation and we have not been in contact with you. She has therefore requested that you please contact the PALS team so we can take your personal details and ensure that you are followed up as required. If you contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0161 276 8686 or by e-mailing pals@cmft.nhs.uk quoting reference number PO16/0149 they will be able to discuss this with you.