"Operation was cancelled twice on the day of the..."

About: Lister Hospital

I had an orthopaedic proceedure at the Lister Dec 2013 that went wrong. I was re-admitted 4 times having been sent back to the Lister by my GP.. One time I arrived at Casualty around 6pm only to get on the ward at 4am the following day!! Each time I spent about 3 - 5 days back on the ward. One occasion after being admitted, the consultant didn't visit or examine me for 5 days! Finally, I requested a 2nd opinion & saw a different consultant who said that I would have to have it done again as it was not fit for purpose! One part of me felt delighted, but I also felt "used & abused" by the very health team who were supposed to be caring for me. I had spent the previous 2 years in exceptional pain. I'm medically retired now but had I had a job or mortgage then I would have been without a job & home!! The new consultant said that as I needed this doing urgently I should not be waiting long. That was Dec 2015 after I had all the pre-op tests done yet again! I wrote to the hospital in May2016 & chased them up until June/July this year.1st op I was told that they didn't have a bed for me! 3 weeks later I again arrived for the operation, got gowned up & waited from 0730 to about 2.30pm only to be told that the operating theatre did not have the sterile tools & equipment to do my operation & I was told "go home" once again!! Although Im a big ugly 60yr old bloke I cried when I got outside the hospital. These were not tears for myself, they were tears about how I was going to tell my wife thatt he holiday we were going to take back in May 2015 would have to be put back yet again!! My wife took early retirement in January 2016 to look after me & yet again I was letting her down.

I used to be an Ambulanceman many years ago & I eventually left & worked my way up to a Service Manager for the UK & was responsible for over 250 staff ensuring our product remained No.1 in the UKt. Both my wife & I foolishly thought "Oh, they will see that they have made a mistake & get me back into hospital quickly to put things right & get me back on my feet again. No ruddy chance, I was put to the back of the Que where I had to wait a further 18 months in pain & using a wheelchair as I could not walk without severe pain & crepitus. I had the operation in July 2016, all this was NOT the fault of the second surgeon, he supported me & I thank him for his skill that Im now on a slow road to recovery. Its the Lister hospital that seems to lack any sense of direction & the staff have lost what little moral & respect for the management that they once had!! The nursing staff doctors & consultants all complain at the poor management & expectation to have all their boxes ticked & bug**r the patients! Staff moral is the worst its ever been. All the investment & staff told me they are "Fire Fighting" & they hate seeing what happened to me, but I was told they cancel anything up to 10 operations each day! Lister is at breaking point, patients are suffering because of poor management

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Lister Hospital

We're very sorry to hear of your experience and we wish to have it followed up formally, because this is not typical of the care provided by our colleagues at the Lister, especially the orthopaedics team.

If you have not made a formal complaint about what has happened already, then do allow us to help you to do so - please just email us at generalenquiries.enh-tr@nhs.net so that we can this started for you. Once again our apologies for your poor experience, although we are pleased to see that your procedure has happened and we wish you well with your recovery. But in the meantime, the circustances of what has happened do need to be followed up.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful