"Poor Crisis Planning Putting Patients at Risk"

About: Tees, Esk And Wear Valleys NHS Foundation Trust / Adult mental health

(as the patient),

I have been trying to get an updated crisis plan since a crisis 22 month ago that in my opinion was handled very poorly by the Trust and put me at risk. 7 months ago I was told that an updated crisis plan had been done and put on the system. I repeatedly asked for a copy but nobody would give it to me. A couple of weeks ago I met with a member of the local community mental health team who told me that the crisis plan on the system is over 2. 5years out of date and she could not find any record whatsoever of an updated one.

I have asked several times in writing and verbally to speak to a safeguarding officer, especially as this is just one aspect of numerous failings in my care, but nobody has spoken to me.

I no longer feel in my experience, that Tees, Esk and Wear Valley are competent to deliver safe crisis planning or that I will ever get an updated, personalised crisis plan from them. I feel the only way anything will change is for external expertise to be brought in to help them figure out how to deliver safe, effective crisis planning.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Matthew Thompson, Patient Experience Team, Tees, Esk and Wear Valleys NHS Foundation Trust

I am very sorry to hear that you have had difficultly accessing your crisis plan and that you feel that you have not recieved adequate care from mental health services at the time you most needed them. I would welcome the opportunity for us to learn from your experience and would be very happy to speak to you about this. My contact details are Corinne Aspel Lead Nurse Patient and Carer Experience telephone 01913333566 e mail corinne.aspel@nhs.net
  • inmyshoes doesn't think this response is helpful
    {{helpful}} of {{totalOthers()}} other people think it is helpful