"Take your own food in"

About: Darlington Memorial Hospital

I was going to DMH for tests and I was ill prepared and didn't take any food with me! Very over priced each item individually or priced so if you get a piece of pie potatoes and veg and gravy and a drink, it works out to be over £6.00 . Considering you can get two meals in a pub for £8.00 it's overpriced for a hospital canteen. My husband wanted a sandwich but there was no staff to serve him one, I felt sorry for the poor person running around trying to serve everyone, they said it is like that all the time as they never have enough staff.. Take your own lunch in because your not missing much..

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Darlington Memorial Hospital

Dear Rhonda

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent visit to Darlington Memorial Hospital.

I am very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your experience on this occasion and we have passed your comments to the Associate Director of Facilities fo ryou.

He would welcome the opportunity to discuss your concerns with you and has asked for his contact number to be shared with you.

If you feel it would be useful to discuss the issues you have raised his contact number is

Tel: 01325 743070

If you do decide to contact him, please let him know that you have left comments on the NHS Choices website.

The Trust is grateful for all feedback, positive or negative, as it means we can better understand what is important to our patients.

Thank you for leaving your comments on NHS Choices.

Patient Experience Team

County Durham and Darlington NHS Foundation Trust

Tel: 0800 7835774

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful