"Waiting times are a disgrace"

About: New Victoria Hospital / Day surgery

(as the patient),

My GP referred me to the new Victoria Hospital in November after I had to make repeat appointments regarding continued pain and discomfort after eating.

After three months I contacted my GP concerned I had not heard back from the Victoria Inf and was informed there was nothing they could do and it was all up to the Victoria Infirmary to arrange a consultant appointment. After another month I was more concerned and so raised with my GP's practice manager, I was informed about how busy this service was and that I wasn't forgotten about.

By May, after more visits to my GP, I contacted the New Victoria to make a complaint but was encouraged not to and transferred to a 'Patient liaison', was told I would be called back. I wasn't called back so after calling again I was transferred to a lovely woman who did give me a secretaries number. I was told that the service was busy again so I went back to my GP (this now my 4th visit) and a new GP to the practice emailed the Victoria.

Eventually I was so frustrated that I had waited from mid November to May that I made a private and costly appointment to a private hospital.  A couple of days later I had an appointment card come through for the Victoria, which was a bit of a waste of time considering I had now went private. The consultant agreed to the suggestions made by the consultant I saw privately.

Then it seems the Victoria made no arrangements so again I had to call various numbers, by this point I had waited almost 6 and a half months for an outpatient appointment because 'its busy'. I now have an endoscopy arranged for September.

I have been assured my condition is chronic and no harm will come of the huge delay, saying this I have now spent almost a year waiting for some kind of treatment plan for this. Can I remind the following:

•From the 31 March 2010, no patient should wait longer than 12 weeks for a new outpatient appointment at a consultant-led clinic. This includes referrals from all sources.

Can I ask why it was acceptable to 1) not communicate 2 allow the long delay which breached the Patient Rights (Scotland Act). As a worried patient the unprofessional process to day surgery has been concerning.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Lisa Ramsay, Patient Experience Public Involvement Team Support, NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde

Dear MH

Thank you for sharing your experience on Patient Opinion. I am sorry to read about what you have been experiencing in terms of delays. I appreciate how frustrating this will have been and continues to be for you.

I would like to look into this more for you and provide you with some answers to what you have raised here. To be able to do that, would you please email me at Lisa.Ramsay@ggc.scot.nhs.uk with some personal details.

Best wishes

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful