About: Leicester Royal Infirmary

I use to live in Leicester but now I am in Birmingham and work 7 days a week. When I was first referred to the ENT department it took more than 10months to be seen due to cancelling appointments. Finally when I saw someone it was a different Dr to the one I was originally meant to see. After waiting 2 hours all they said was I will write up my notes and refer it onto your Dr only they can make a decision about what to do next. That appointment was a waste of time in it self as I waited another 4 months to be seen. After that my operation was around 5months later. It has been a year since and I am suffering in the condition I am in. I had my second review appointment booked in June but that was cancelled also. I was sent another letter for todays appointment with another consultant. When I called the department they said my surgeon has left the hospital so I have been moved to another Dr. Great, I took a day off and travelled to Leicester on a Sunday, only to find out just before I am walking into the room it is with a completely different doctor. The same thing happened, they said they will write up their notes and refer it back to the surgeon who did my operation despite me telling them they don't work for the hospital anymore. I went to the desk and the Dr had written a review in 3 months. Why am I waiting another 3 months when this appointment was a complete waste of my time!?

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leicester Royal Infirmary

Dear Zahra,

We are very sorry to hear about the delays and cancellations you have experienced. We would like to investigate the reasons for this so could you please provide us with your details (Name, address, date of birth and NHS number) by emailing natalie.j.johnson@uhl-tr.nhs.uk.

Kind regards,

Natalie Johnson

Deputy Service Manager

Leicester’s Hospitals

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful